2016 Track Cycling World Championships Wrap-up

2016 Track Cycling World Championships Wrap-up

South Australian Sports Institute athletes step up at the 2016 Track world Championships held in London

2016 Team Pursuit World Champions 

It was an exciting 2016 Track World Championships for the 10 South Australian Sports Institute (SASI) athletes who competed in London over the last week. The highlight of the week was the Men’s Team Pursuit. The two dominant nations of the event – Australia and Great Britain - faced off for the gold medal on Thursday night. Australia took an early lead, but the British team fought back to take the front in the final 1000 metres. Despite the deafening cheers of the home crowd, the Australians were too good for the Great Britain team who slipped back as the Aussies took a well-deserved win in a time only 1.068 seconds short of the world record. Not only was the victory a great win for Australia but it was a massive success for the South Australian Sports Institute who boasted 4 of the 6 winning riders.

SASI athletes Alex Porter, Luke Davison, Miles Scotson and Callum Scotson were part of the winning team. Alex played an important role in qualifying Australia second fastest and Luke was a key rider in Australia’s first round win over New Zealand. Callum Scotson was selected to race for the gold medal alongside his brother Miles.

In the sprint races, Matthew Glaetzer launched himself onto his first World Championship sprint podium, claiming silver in the men’s individual sprint on Saturday. Matt’s previous best performance was fourth in 2014 but this year he posted the fastest flying 200m time of 9.766seconds, just one millisecond ahead of reigning Olympic champion Jason Kenny (9.767). In the quarterfinals, Glaetzer was on fire as he sent four-time and defending sprint world champion Gregory Bauge (FRA) packing in straight heats. Glaetzer continued his giant killing run in the semi-final, bumping Russian triple World Championship sprint medallist Denis Dmitriev out in straight heats. In the final, Glaetzer and Kenny (GBR) fought an epic three-set battle in front of a packed home crowd.  The highly anticipated final did not disappoint, with Glaetzer silencing the poms with a stunning photo-finish victory in the first heat, before 2011 world champion Kenny took it to a third by taking the second heat. Matthew Glaetzer has become the first Aussie man since Shane Perkins in 2010 to make the men's sprint podium at a World Championships.

South Australian Glenn O’Shea also took home a bronze medal in the Omnium after a very close event. O'Shea has finished on the podium in the omnium in all five World Championships appearances one gold, one silver and three bronze medals.

Anna Meares took home her seventh world championship medal in the Keirin, and twenty-seventh career medal. Meares, a three-time world champion in the event, was narrowly beaten in a drag to the line by Germany's Kristina Vogel who clinched her second world title in three years in the Keirin. But Meares was very happy with the result and said that her focus is Rio and that’s what she is on track for.

South Australian Athletes finished with a total of 1 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze for the Championships.