South Australian Cyclists dominate at National Championships

South Australian Cyclists dominate at National Championships

The performances of South Australian cyclists capped off an outstanding 2016 Subaru Track Nationals.

The 2016 Subaru Track Nationals was a successful event for South Australian riders who dominated the podium. The 31 rider team won over 20 medals including an impressive 10 Gold.

The team's success allowed SA to claim the Robina Joy Trophy for most outstanding team at the Track Nationals.

Standout performances came from some of the regular senior athletes as well as young South Australian Sports Institute riders who are starting to make their mark. The Edmondson siblings, Alex and Annette continued to find success in their respective events with Annette taking out the women's points race for the fourth time in the last five years. In the men's 1000m Luke Davison took home the gold and new comers Alex Porter and Rohan White finished 3rd and 4th respectively which was an outstanding performance for the young riders.

The men's team pursuit was dominated by SA who took home the gold and silver and in the women's, the Sprint Queens Anna Mears and Steph Morton were on fire again taking the title over fellow SASI riders Breanna Hargreave and Rikki Belder. Anna and Steph backed it up in the indivdual event finishing 1, 2 respectively. The women continued to dominate the field with Anna, Steph and Rikki Belder making it a SA podium clean sweep in the Keiren. Of the young riders, Harrison Lodge finished with gold in the Under 19 Keirin and silver in the Under 19 Sprint.

For more details and to see all reseult go to the Cycling Australia Website.

Thank you to all of the coaches and support staff for all their hard work as well as our sponsors for their ongoing support; Callidus, Cervelo, Champion System, Jayco, KASK, MAC and Prochem.