SASI stars enjoying the ride

There appears to be no stopping SASI cyclists achieving outstanding results at national and international events.

South Australian colours have dominated podiums across Australia at major cycling events in the past four months.

Whether on the track or road, or junior or senior cyclists, SA has stood tall among its competitors.

SASI lead coach Brett Aitken said it had been a thrill to watch SASI and South Australian riders achieve many outstanding results for a long time, and in particular in the past few months.

"It has been phenomenal to see our results,'' he said. "We have a lot of depth and a great lot of young riders coming through. I think a program like our talent ID program has provided an excellent pathway for riders.

"In December (last year) we had 14 Oceania track champions, at the Omnium Track National Championships we won 50 percent of the medals and 50 percent of the gold medals while in the Madison we had champion riders on both winning teams, men's and women's.

SA riders had just seen in the New Year when they lined up at the Road National Championships in Ballarat from January 4-8, again collecting 50 percent of the medals on offer with 50 percent of those gold medals.

Earlier in March SA riders won 12 gold medals from a possible 32 events at the Track National Championship in Brisbane.

Aitken said that was another outstanding return.

"We had seven actual allcomers records from SA, 75 percent of the team won a medal . And then just recently we had Maeve (Moroney-Plouffe) win gold in the time trial at the Oceania championships and Liam Nolan winning a silver in the road race. To finish off we had wins in the most prestigious Madison event in Australia (Ballarat, March 11,12) when Alex (Manly) won the women's and Rohan Wight and Alex Porter won the men's.''

Meanwhile, eight SASI cyclists are in the squad for the 2017 UCI Track World Championship in Hong Kong from April 12-16. They are: Patrick Constable, Matthew Glaetzer, Stephanie Morton, Holly Takos, Alex Manly, Alex Porter, Callum Scotson and Rohan Wight.

SASI Cycling Stars