World title berth caps off big year for Maeve

The accolades keep coming Maeve Plouffe's way as she celebrates her debut selection on the Australian team for the 2020 UCI Track World Championships in Berlin, Germany, between Ferbruary 26 and March 1

THERE appears to be no stopping outstanding young SASI athlete Maeve Plouffe as she keeps ticking off achievements in cycling - most recently winning selection for her first appearance in an Australian team for the UCI Track World championships in Berlin, Germany, between February 26 and March 1, 2020.

Her selection comes hot on the heels of the success at the UCI Track World Cup in Brisbane in mid December where she teamed up with Georgia Baker, Ashlee Ankudinoff, Annette Edmondson and Alex Manly to win gold in the women's pursuit final over New Zealand.

The men also won gold in their pursuit final with SASI graduate Alex Porter part of the team.

For Plouffe it's been a whirlwind few weeks with her debut selection in the Australian team keeping her very much in the frame for the Tokyo Olympics.

In Berlin she will team with the four riders who won gold in Brisbane plus Amy Cure will come into the line up.

Plouffe said she was over the moon with her debut selection to the world championships.

"This feel like a dream," Plouffe said.

"To my teammates, staff and to all the people who genuinely believed in me and helped me get here…thank you.

"Let the hard work continue - Berlin here we come.''

SASI Head Coach Cycling Brett Aitken said Plouffe's rise in the sport had been outstanding.

"Maeve has been one of the standouts in the sport in the past 12 months," Aitken said.

"Her rise in the sport to be in real contention for the Olympics has been big.

"She's jumped over a number of girls in that time."

'The Australian team for the world titles in Berlin, Germany, is:

Men's endurance: Samuel Welsford, Alex Porter, Kelland O'Brien, Leigh Howard, Cameron Scott and Cameron Meyer.

Women's endurance: Ashlee Ankudinoff, Georgia Baker, Amy Cure, Annette Edmondson, Alexandra Manly and Maeve Plouffe.

Men's sprint; Matthew Glaetzer, Nathan Hart, Matthew Richardson.

Women's sprint: Stephanie Morton, Kaarle McCulloch.

UCI Track World Championships
Georgia Baker, Ashlee Ankudinoff, Maeve Plouffe, Annette Edmondson and Alexandra Manly

Maeve Plouffe
Maeve Plouffe

Follow SASI online

Facebook @SASInews

Twitter @SASI_sport

Instagram @sa_sports_institute