Aitken joins Cycling Australia's Hall of Fame at night of nights

Years of hard work and excellence in performance have seen SASI Head Coach Cycling Brett Aitken recognised at Cycling Australia's annual awards ceremony in Brisbane - elevated into CA's Hall of Fame

GOLD medals at an Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games and world championship and an outstanding coach/mentor over many years has seen Brett Aitken inducted into the Cycling Australia's Hall of Fame.

Presented following the UCI Track World Cup in Brisbane, Aitken and Scott McGrory who paired to win the Madison gold medal at the Sydney 2000 Olympics, were among five athletes in this year's Hall of Fame intake.

Aitken, the SA Sports Institute Cycling Head Coach, said he was surprised but thrilled to be inducted.

"This was really an honour to be among those recognised," Aitken said.

"At the start of your career you don't set out to win these type of awards.

"I guess they come along with the journey. But one of the best things in this job is watching athletes develop, such as Jarrad Drizners who has just won a professional contract. That just makes me enjoy what we do.''

Aitken has had a big year in his coaching development, attending Aigle, Switzerland, mid year to attain his Level 3 Diploma in the UCI Coach Development Program.

SASI Director Wes Battams said Aitken's induction into the Hall of Fame was richly deserved.

"Brett is a triple Olympian with a complete set of medals - gold, silver and bronze," Battams said.

"Brett's pinnacle moment was the gold medal winning race with Scott McGrory at the Sydney 2000 Olympics.

"Brett was also a world champion in the teams' pursuit in 1993 and competed in two Commonwealth Games.

"Brett has continued to contribute to cycling in his retirement off the bike and SASI is proud to have him lead our SASI cycling program.

"I am really proud that Brett continues to be dedicated to the sport and is always striving to improve his knowledge and coaching practice."

SASI also was to the fore with other award winners on the night.

Darren Hicks took out the men's Para Road Cyclist of the Year after an excellent year which netted a win in the C2 time trial world title and two World Cup gold medals.

Paige Greco continued her stellar year by taking out the Para Female Track Cyclist of the Year. That was following gold medals in the individual pursuit and time trial titles in world record time at the 2019 world championship.

In the junior category Ella Sibley shone as the Junior Track (female) winner, while Jarrad Drizners took out the National Road Series Champion Award in the men's award.

The Coach of the Year International award went to Tim Decker who has had to overcome a physical battle with head trauma to carry on his coaching at the elite level.

Follow SASI online

Facebook @SASInews

Twitter @SASI_sport

Instagram @sa_sports_institute